Xbox One (let's call it XB1 for short):
Gamers crave compatibility with their old systems in new ones. Do they get that!? Yet again, NO! So there's the first reason why your sales will plummet. Also this is supposed to be a console.. which has meant "gaming" ever since the ATARI 2600... Not so much anymore.
Ok, the gaming part is still there to be fair, but at first and yes, even at second sight the damn thing appears to be focused on Kinect and Home theater experiences. (Blurays yet again people yaaaay -.-')
Not to mention that the damn thing (despite its really stupid name imho) is really ugly. It looks like one of the first VCR's we had when I was 5 yrs old.
On to the hardware specs...
Once again I'm not really impressed. The Xbox One is powered by an 8-core x86 AMD CPU. Ok, not bad.. still going pretty well.. A GPU that’s very similar to the Radeon 7790 which is a little outdated already, but nonetheless bang for the buck if you'll look at these bench results:
And 8 gigs of DDR3 ram, which is fine... Wait for it.... Only 5 of those will be dedicated to gaming as the primary OS of the "gaming" system needs the other 3.. Wait WHUT? Even my desktop pc which runs Win7 x64 (because i'm not coming anywhere near win8) doesn't eat that much mem.
Also, game trading is a thing of the past with this wonderful machine. Because who doesn't like to borrow a game from a friend and pay the full price once they put it in their XB1? This goes beyond all comprehension. This is a limitation where the bar is set a little too high.. Yes, every game needs to be purchased when played on another XB1. The Kinect is always on by the way... at all times.... Creepin' you out yet frequent couch masturbator?
Microsoft this is where you "F" up.. I thought the WII-U wouldn't sell with these two corporate giants in the video game industry around the corner. I may have to rethink this... Even though the WII-U keeps trampling on the edge of this gen's graphical abilities when it comes to consoles. But i'm not getting into that one because I don't consider the WII-U to be a really big contender. And the reason for this is the next console...
The PS4:
Yes Sony! Even though you haven't showed us this black box (only teased us with blurry and close up pics, which I don't comprehend) we know what to expect from it. Here's the hardware specs (copy pasted it yes, kinda lazy):
Single-chip custom processor
CPU: x86-64 AMD 'Jaguar' 8 cores GPU: 1.84 TFLOPS, AMD next-generation Radeon™ based graphics engine
Memory:
GDDR5 8GB
Hard Disk Drive:
Built-in
Optical Drive (read only):
BD 6xCAV
DVD 8xCAV
I/O and communication:
Super-Speed USB (USB 3.0)
AUX
Ethernet (10BASE-T, 100BASE-TX, 1000BASE-T)
IEEE 802.11 b/g/n
Bluetooth® 2.1 (EDR)
AV output:
HDMI
Analog-AV out
Digital Output (optical)
This is where Sony Does it right. Even though the prices will be slightly steeper than the XB1 it still seems to deliver on graphical quality. "Next-gen Radeon basted graphics engine" Which is better than the XB1's old-gen tech me thinks. Well, let's hope so... but I have a good hunch that this one will do better.
I'm happy with everything sofar on the ps4 front, except for one thing. The "Share button". Why does a controller need a share button? From a let's player's point of view (given the right software to upload the content) this may be easy but how many people are actually going to use this? This just seems a cost expense that could have been easily avoided by adding this as an in-game menu option or something.
Other than that, good reveal on Sony's part. They showed some of the new "engine" tech within the games, which I was impressed by, and even a few titles I'm totally pumped for!
I don't want to sound like a SONY fanboy but they did good in comparison to Microsoft, which is just a fact at this point. Even Sony's stock has gone up 9% right after the XB1 reveal. Coincidence? I think not!
So there we go, bet on the SONY machine if you do want to buy any of the next-gen consoles.
I still hope Microsoft gets to set things straight @ E3 in a little more than 3 weeks. I really like a good match-up between these two companies. Although it really looks bad for Microsoft...
If this keeps up, PC gaming will be back on the rise. Which you don't see me complaining about. I love my rig more than any console out there! (Though my SEGA Genesis comes close.. Retro LUV ^^)
So there's my two cents on everything!
No comments:
Post a Comment